book review: Loving Frank by Nancy Horan

Posted on January 2, 2009

4


Loving Frank: A Novel Loving Frank: A Novel by Nancy Horan

My review


rating: 3 of 5 stars
This is a compelling story which for the most part is conveyed in plain, simple, and often pedestrian prose. No doubt the author decided that the plot was so riveting that the appropriate style should be understated, but I think she took this approach too far. Most of the book could have benefited from the kind of lyricism displayed in its concluding chapters. I am nonetheless glad I read it. I had seen the PBS documentary on the Wright-Borthwick romance, so the events were not a surprise, but the novel did bring them to life. This is not a great book, but its story is worth hearing. In some respects Wright and Borthwick were ahead of their time, but whenever the well being of children is a factor whether to stay or leave a stale marriage remains a difficult dilemma.

View all my reviews.

Posted in: Uncategorized